Drawing reflection

Following feedback from assignment 2 I've been looking back at my drawings to see what links there are with my painting.

Mostly I use outlines which show form and composition.    These are quick and I just want to get on with painting so want a feeling I have a reasonable composition.  I'm not really thinking about paint so much at this stage.

To show more of the form of the areas of interest I add directional lines to show shading of darker tones, often in direction of the surface I'm drawing.   I notice I've rarely spent the extra time doing this.   When I do I see I often leave areas untouched because its not an area of focus.    Looking at how Turner made some sketches I may benefit from sketching on coloured paper so that I get a better tonal range and coverage quicker.

Notes have sometimes been added about thoughts of the feelings, whats important in the painting, maybe something about the medium.

How do I incorporate mark making qualities, what are they?  

Through reading and noting feedback I'm getting a sense the drawing is more important, particularly whilst I'm experimenting and learning. Today I did some random sketches each time trying to draw as I might paint focusing on how I move the pencil and hold it. I found this taxing because it doesn't look or feel like paint and I've learnt how to use a pencil in a certain way. I'm guessing I need to practice more like this.

I liked the way the cow came out, the lines were clear and intentional. The collection of animals became a mess, although there were some nice marks on the dinosaur. I think i got bored too quickly with it and it's a bit complex. The view worked reasonable well because it reflects the calm and quietness of the moment. It's hard to translate the grayness quickly with pencil.

Author: Paul Hunter

An artist rediscovering art using life in Hong Kong. Since the birth of my son, I've taken an opportunity to use the time I'm not looking after him on exploring my artistic skills. I'll be using the hunter blog to record my journey.

Leave a Reply

